The Edmonton Metropolitan Region

On April 15th, 2008, the Government of Alberta established the Capital Region Board (CRB), comprising the 24 municipalities in the region, and directed the CRB to prepare a Capital Region growth plan. The growth plan, Growing Forward, was approved by the Province on March 11, 2010. Growing Forward outline how member municipalities can establish regional partnerships in key priority areas for growth, recognizing the positive benefits of shared development, infrastructure and policy frameworks.

Currently engaged in the Plan’s five year update, the Board’s Growth Plan Task Force has adopted Edmonton Metropolitan Region to identify the region more clearly.



reCAP Newsletter

Stay up-to-date on issues affecting our Region including municipal news, committee updates and upcoming events. Read the archived issues.

Twitter Feed
AB transit strategy talks @CalgaryRegion and @CRBnow members with @ABTransComm Minister Mason in Red Deer #ableg
Enjoying Building For Life Breakfast fundraiser. @CRBnow focuses on regional seniors housing with @GEFSeniors #ableg
First ever regional housing needs report passed by @CRBnow. Looking forward to developing the plan together. #ableg